Home Immigration Rwanda Tourism Visa Requirements and Application Process

Rwanda Tourism Visa Requirements and Application Process

Rwanda Tourism Visa Requirements and Application Process
rwanda tourism

Nestled in the heart of East Africa, Rwanda is a hidden gem that offers a unique and unforgettable travel experience. From its breathtaking landscapes to its vibrant culture, this enchanting country has something for every traveler. In this blog post, we will take you on a virtual journey through the top destinations, charming towns, magnificent national parks, and essential information about visa requirements and processing in Rwanda.

How to Enjoy the Perfect Adventure to Rwanda


Rwanda is blessed with diverse destinations that showcase the country’s natural and cultural heritage. Start your adventure in Kigali, the vibrant capital city, where you can explore historical landmarks, bustling markets, and immerse yourself in the rich Rwandan culture. Visit the solemn Genocide Memorial and learn about the country’s journey of resilience and hope.

You can also venture beyond the city and discover the stunning Lake Kivu, a serene paradise offering relaxation and water activities. Explore the scenic Nyungwe Forest National Park, home to diverse wildlife and captivating hiking trails. For an extraordinary wildlife encounter, head to Volcanoes National Park, where you can embark on an unforgettable expedition.

These places has varieties of activities available in each destination, such as gorilla trekking, hiking, bird watching, wildlife safaris, and cultural experiences.

Charming Towns

While exploring Rwanda, make sure to visit its charming towns that offer a glimpse into the local way of life. Rubavu, located on the shores of Lake Kivu, entices visitors with its picturesque beaches and vibrant atmosphere. Experience the traditional Intore dance performances and engage with the friendly locals.

You can also visit Musanze, a town near Volcanoes National Park, to immerse yourself in the fascinating culture of the Rwandan people. Explore the local markets, taste traditional cuisine, and learn about the art of traditional pottery. Musanze serves as a convenient base for gorilla trekking adventures, allowing you to experience the wonders of Volcanoes National Park up close.

National Parks

Rwanda’s national parks are a true testament to the country’s commitment to conservation and preserving its natural treasures. Volcanoes National Park, as mentioned earlier, is renowned for its mountain gorillas. Witness these majestic creatures in their natural habitat and contribute to their protection.

Akagera National Park, located in eastern Rwanda, offers a captivating safari experience. Embark on thrilling game drives and spot a diverse range of wildlife, including elephants, lions, giraffes, and zebras. Nyungwe Forest National Park is a haven for nature enthusiasts, boasting lush forests, stunning waterfalls, and an abundance of bird species.

Rwanda Tourist Visa Requirements

There are 11 classes of tourist visa. These are: T1 – tourist, T2 – tourist, T3 – family, T4 – official diplomat, T6 – conference, T7 – business, T8 – medical treatment, T9 – group tourist, T10 – itinerant business person and T11- bridging. The validity and cost of the visa depend on the type of the visa.

    1. Class T2 Tourist: This visa is for individuals from specific countries who are visiting Rwanda for tourism purposes, such as holidays, sightseeing, or visiting relatives, without engaging in any work activities.
    2. Class T3 Tourist Family: This visa is intended for individuals visiting their family members or close relatives who reside and work in Rwanda.
    3. Class T4 Visiting Diplomat: This visa is applicable to diplomats visiting Rwanda for official purposes.
    4. Class T6-1 Single-Entry – Conference: This visa is designed for eligible individuals who are attending conferences, meetings, workshops, or seminars in Rwanda.
    5. Class T6-2 Multiple-Entry – Conference: Similar to the T6-1 visa, this visa allows multiple entries for individuals attending conferences or other related events in Rwanda.
    6. Class T7 Business: This visa is for prospective investors, entrepreneurs, or traders who wish to explore business opportunities in Rwanda.
    7. Class T8 Tourist – Medical Treatment: Individuals seeking medical treatment or consultations in Rwanda can obtain this visa.
    8. Class L9 Tourist – Group Tourist: This visa is available for individuals traveling as part of a group, consisting of four to ten tourists, either independently or with a tour operator.
    9. Class T12 – East Africa Tourist Visa: This visa allows foreigners to visit multiple East African countries, including Kenya, Rwanda, and Uganda, within a single trip.

These visa classes cater to different purposes and requirements of visitors to Rwanda, ensuring a smooth and regulated entry into the country.

Before visiting Rwanda, it’s essential to be aware of the visa requirements, type of visa and the process involved. Citizens of all countries are allowed to get visa upon arrival without prior application.

Furthermore, citizens of member countries of the following organizations; African Union, Commonwealth and La Francophonie get visa upon arrival free of charge for a visit of 30 days.

  • A valid travel document. Your passport should at least have six month of vali,dation.
  • A passport-sized photo.
  • Rwanda visa application form.
  • Health insurance.
  • A return flight ticket.
  • An accommodation proof.

 The processing time for a Rwanda visa is between seven to ten working days.

How to Apply for a Rwanda Tourism Visa?

Applying for a Rwanda visa can be done through three different methods. Here are the details for each option:

  1. Apply Online:
    • Visit the official website of the Rwanda Directorate General of Immigration and Emigration.
    • Fill out the online application form.
    • Attach all the required supporting documents.
    • Complete the payment for the visa application fee.
    • Wait for the email notification regarding your visa application result.
  2. Apply at the Port of Entry:
    • Travelers who require a visa can obtain one upon arrival at the port of entry in Rwanda.
    • The visa obtained at the port of entry is typically valid for a period of 30 to 90 days.
  3. Apply at the Embassy of Rwanda:
    • Contact the nearest embassy or consulate of Rwanda to schedule an appointment.
    • Fill out the visa application form provided by the embassy.
    • Gather all the necessary documents as per the requirements.
    • Submit the completed application along with the required documents to the embassy.
    • Make the payment for the applicable visa application fee.
    • Await the response from the embassy regarding the status of your visa application.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here