Sunday, June 16, 2024

Bulgaria and Romania to join Schengen Area in issuing short-term Schengen Visas

Exciting news has just dropped for those dreaming of exploring Europe’s vibrant landscapes and rich history. Starting April 1, 2024, Bulgaria and Romania will commence issuing short-term Schengen visas to Nigerian citizens and nationals from other non-EU countries. This marks a pivotal moment, opening up a gateway to experiencing 26 countries without border checks, offering diverse cultural experiences and breathtaking adventures.

For travelers originating from within the Schengen Area, the integration of Bulgaria and Romania means a passport-check-free entry when arriving by flights, ferries, or cruises. While land border controls remain under discussion, this move will foster unity and collaboration across the European continent.

How this will Impact Travellers?

The decision by Bulgaria and Romania to issue short-term Schengen visas will have numerous implications for travellers, bringing both exciting opportunities and some logistical considerations including:

  • Access to the Schengen Zone:  Travellers will now be able to explore 26 European countries without border checks, opening up a vast array of destinations with diverse cultures, landscapes, and historical treasures.
  • Enhanced Travel Options: This opens doors for shorter trips, weekend getaways, and business travel, previously impractical due to visa complexities. With this development, Nigerians can now plan trips to iconic destinations like Romania Brașov, Transylvania’s unofficial capital, and Bulgaria’s sun-kissed Black Sea coast, with its golden beaches and buzzing resorts
  • Boosted Tourism: Travellers can experience the hospitality and unique offerings of Bulgaria and Romania, contributing to their economies and fostering cultural exchange. Increased tourism is expected to boost business opportunities, cultural exchange, and investment in both countries. Additionally, it opens doors for Nigerian professionals to attend conferences, participate in educational programs, and explore business ventures in Europe.
  • Potential for future expansion: This move sets a precedent for similar agreements between other EU countries and African nations, potentially expanding travel opportunities further. It also signifies a strategic move to foster stronger economic ties with African nations.

Will this Change Impact the Visa Issuance?

While travelers may experience minimal changes, the passport validity requirements remain consistent with EU standards, emphasizing the need for up-to-date travel documents. Therefore, obtaining a Schengen visa still requires careful planning and documentation. Be prepared to present proof of travel arrangements, financial means, and a valid passport.

Although, the visa issued allows you to visit any of the Schengen States during the same trip within the validity of the visa. These countries include Austria, Belgium, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland. It is noteworthy that if you wish to remain in any of these Schengen country for longer than 90 days, you need to be employed or establish a business, trade or profession.

What is Schengen visa

A Schengen visa is a single visa that allows you to travel freely within the Schengen Area, a zone comprising 26 European countries that have abolished internal border controls. With one visa, you can visit any of these countries for up to 90 days within a 180-day period.

Here’s a breakdown of its key features:


  • Freedom of movement: No passport checks at internal borders within the Schengen Area.
  • Multiple country visits: Explore various countries with just one visa.
  • Short stays: Ideal for vacations, business trips, or visiting family and friends.
  • Convenient and efficient: Saves time and hassle compared to obtaining separate visas for each country.

Types of Schengen visas:

  • Short-stay Schengen visa: The most common type, valid for up to 90 days within a 180-day period.
  • Airport transit visa: Required if you need to transit through a Schengen airport on your way to a non-Schengen country.
  • Long-stay Schengen visa: Valid for more than 90 days, typically issued for specific purposes like study, work, or family reunification.

Overall, the Schengen visa offers a convenient and efficient way to explore Europe. If you’re planning a trip to the Schengen Area, be sure to understand the requirements and apply well in advance to ensure a smooth travel experience.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!

Please enter comment in Japanese. (Anti-spam)

Please enter your name here


Latest Articles